A Message from our Director of Schools
At Cranbrook we believe that a stellar education is the greatest and most enduring gift one can give. And that it has a few key ingredients: motivated students, from diverse backgrounds and with a myriad of unique perspectives; caring and diligent teachers who constantly see and bring out the best in young people; and an environment that inspires a sense of wonder and curiosity in us all.

You will find motivation, care, and wonder at the heart of the Cranbrook experience. At every division and in each facet of Cranbrook’s program, our students and teachers focus on the habits of empathy, perseverance, inquiry, mastery and responsibility that ensure each student’s success in school and, far beyond our campus, every student’s ability to make meaningful contributions to society. These habits invite opportunity and beget joyful relationships – at our Brookside elementary school, at our middle schools for both girls and boys, at Cranbrook Kingswood Upper School, and everywhere in the lives of our graduates.

I invite you to learn more about Cranbrook, our reputation as one of the leading college preparatory schools in the country, and the opportunities here that last a lifetime. Since 1922, we have built an inclusive community where young people thrive, where unique perspectives are cultivated, and dreams and passions are nurtured. We welcome promising students of all walks of life to our school.

Thank you for your interest in Cranbrook and in how excited we are to play a meaningful and enduring role in your child’s discovery and growth.

 - Aimeclaire Roche, Director of Schools

Schools Governance


List of 2 items.

  • Cranbrook Educational Community Board of Trustees

    2018-19 Board Members
    Adele Acheson (Vice Chair)
    Michael H. Acheson
    Pamela Applebaum
    Michael E. Berger
    Richard L. DeVore
    Jamison Williams Faliski
    Virginia B. Fox
    Maxine Frankel
    Lee B. Ghesquiere
    Jennifer Gilbert
    Linda H. Gillum (Vice Chair)
    William K. M. Goldsmith
    Jeffrey A. Harris (Vice Chair)
    Rejji P. Hayes
    Christopher Ilitch
    James Kelly
    Brock R. Landry
    Trevor F. Lauer
    Leslie Li
    Bruce D. Peterson (Chair)
    Stephen R. Polk (Vice Chair)
    Mark L. Reuss (Vice Chair)
    Warren E. Rose
    Allan Rothfeder
    Geoffrey Schiciano
    Sidhdharth D. Sheth
    Sandra A. Smith
    Robert S. Taubman
    Nancy Tellem
    Deborah Wahl
    Richard E. Warren
    Robert T. Wilson

    Senior Trustees
    Maggie Allesee
    Linda Wasserman Aviv
    Lynda Charfoos
    Jeffrey K. Clark
    Julie Fisher Cummings
    Denise Anton David
    Erica Ward Gerson
    Edward Hagenlocker 
    Patricia C. Hartmann
    Ira J. Jaffe
    Wayne B. Lyon
    Eugene A. Miller
    Lisa Payne
    Lloyd E. Reuss
    Tod Williams
    Read More
  • Schools Board of Governors

    The Board of Governors advises the Director of Schools in achieving and maintaining programmatic excellence of the division. The Board's larger purpose is to sponsor and lead the division in the service of its constituents and the broader needs of the public in a dynamic society. The Board of Governors shares in the responsibility of advocating for the best interests of the School's Division and Cranbrook as a whole.

    2018-19 Officers

    *Jamison Williams Faliski, Chair
    *Sidhdharth D. Sheth, Vice Chair
    *Pamela Applebaum, Secretary
    F. Kevin Browett, Treasurer

    2018-19 Members
    Neil W. H. Armstrong
    Kristen L. Baiardi
    S. Elie Boudt
    Chase B. Brand
    David S. DeMuth
    Laurie R. Frankel
    *Lee B. Ghesquiere
    Howard J. Gourwitz
    Charlene Reuss Grandelius
    Phyllip Hall
    Brian M. Hermelin
    Kelle Ilitch
    Ken Jamerson
    Kenneth M. Kernen, M.D.
    Olaf “Cory” Kroneman IV
    *Leslie Li
    Barbara Yolles Ludwig
    Roger Mali
    Rob Mardigian
    Seth Seligman Meltzer
    Wade Mezey
    Ryan L. Polk
    Mary Pat Rosen
    David J. Runyon
    *Geoffrey C. Schiciano
    Kelly Shuert
    Marquita Harris Sylvia
    Sandra Tarakji-Nemeh
    George N. Tepe
    Matthew H. Trunsky, M.D.
    *Deborah Wahl
    * Schools Representative to the CEC Board of Trustees
    Read More

Mission Statement

Cranbrook Schools are independent day and boarding schools that provide students with a challenging and comprehensive college preparatory education. We motivate students from diverse backgrounds to strive for intellectual, creative, and physical excellence, to develop a deep appreciation for the arts and different cultures, and to employ the technological tools of our modern age. Our schools seek to instill in students a strong sense of personal and social responsibility, the ability to think critically, and the competence to communicate and contribute in an increasingly global community.

Guiding Principles
Cranbrook Schools comprise a college preparatory day and boarding educational institution, early childhood through 12th grade, consisting of three divisions: a lower, middle and an upper school. We are structured to recognize and respond to the developmental, cognitive and creative needs of boys and girls and are dedicated to excellence in all aspects of education.

Contact Us

PO Box 801
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48303
(248) 645-3000